2014 Schedule Unveiled

The FIFA Executive Committee convened on Thursday 27 September, at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, and approved the kick-off times for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

The Opening Match will take place on 12 June in Sao Paulo, with a kick-off time of 17.00.

Group-stage games will be played at 13.00, 16.00, 17.00, 18:00, 19.00 and 21:00 local time, with knockout stage matches at 13.00 and 17.00 local time. The semi-finals will be played at 17.00 local time and the Final, on 13 July 2014 at the iconic Maracana stadium, at 16.00 local time.

All kick-offs are local time, with Cuiaba and Manaus being CET-6, all other venues CET -5. After USA 1994, it will be the first time that FIFA World Cup matches will be played in different time zones, with Manaus and Cuiaba one hour behind Brasilia Time.

When defining the kick-off times, the following criteria was taken into consideration:

• Equitable distribution across all teams

• Equitable rest periods for teams within same group

• Temperature in venues

• Global TV market considerations

• Fan travel logistics: flight times, accommodation

Additional information