Six target YOG

Sport Business News

Six National Olympic Committees (NOCs) have submitted applications for Candidate Cities to host the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in 2018.

These NOCs are, in alphabetical order: Argentina (Buenos Aires), Colombia (MedellÃ┬ín), Great Britain (Glasgow), Mexico (Guadalajara), Netherlands (Rotterdam) and Poland (Poznań). IOC president Jacques Rogge said: We are delighted with the high level of interest shown in hosting the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2018. It is a shining endorsement of just how successful the inaugural summer (Singapore 2010) and winter (Innsbruck 2012) editions were and reflects how the popularity, excitement and awareness surrounding the YOG continue to build at an impressive pace. The next deadline for the bid process is 15 March 2012, when the NOCs, Bid Committees and YOG Candidate Cities must submit the signed 2018 YOG Candidature Procedure. Timeline – 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games 2018 Bid ProcessSignature of the 2018 YOG Candidature Procedure15 March 2012Submission of the YOG Candidature File and other documents15 October 2012Shortlist of YOG Candidate Cities by the IOC Executive Board12–13 Feb. 2013Report by the IOC Evaluation CommissionMay 2013Election of the host city of the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2018July 2013

Additional information