Russia plans 13 host cities for 2018

Sport Business News

Russia plans to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup in 13 cities, but the final decision will be made by FIFA, football's international governing body, prime minister Vladimir Putin has said.

" We will not exclude any cities, " Putin said during a trip to Volgograd in May 2011. " And we'll for sure keep Volgograd – how can we win without Stalingrad? " The Battle of Stalingrad – as Volgograd was known during World War II – was one of the fiercest and seen as a turning point in the Soviet army's victory over Nazi Germany on the Eastern Front. FIFA President Sepp Blatter said a dozen cities would be the optimal number to hold the tournament. The cities in Russia's victorious bid were Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Kazan, Yaroslavl, Nizhny Novgorod, Saransk, Samara, Volgograd, Yekaterinburg, Rostov–on–Don, Krasnodar and Sochi.

Additional information