888 sponsors Darts

Sport Business News

Online gaming provider 888.com, in association with the Professional Darts Corporation, is proud to announce the title sponsorship of the 888.com Premier League Darts.

The 888. com Premier League Darts, featuring eight stars of the sport, began on Thursday 10 February 2011 at The O2 in London and proceed around the UK for 15 successive Thursday nights, culminating in the championship play–off in Wembley Arena on 19 May 2011. Over 80, 000 fans will pack the UK's biggest arenas during the event, which was won by Phil Taylor in May 2010 when he hit an historic twonine–darters in the final against defending champion James Wade. " We are delighted to welcome 888. com back into darts as the title sponsor for the Premier League Darts, " said PDC chairman Barry Hearn. " This tournament has emerged as the biggest indoor sporting event in the country in recent years and we look forward to welcoming a record number of fans to the country's 15 biggest arenas. " With television coverage being shown worldwide, the 888. com Premier League Darts will provide an ideal showcase for 888. com's online casino (http://www. 888. com/online–casino/) and poker brands. 888. com previously sponsored the inaugural Premier League Darts season in 2005, which was won by Phil Taylor when he defeated Colin Lloyd in the final in Manchester. Adi Soffer, managing director of 888. com, stated: " We are extremelyexcited to have the opportunity to once again be involved with this event. Over the years the Premier League Darts has grown substantially and now with an international reach we feel it's the perfect time to align our brands again. " The 888. com Premier League Darts will feature reigning champion Phil Taylor, World Champion Adrian Lewis, James Wade, Gary Anderson, Simon Whitlock, Raymond van Barneveld, Terry Jenkins and Mark Webster. Every night will be screened live on Sky Sports HD, with the openingnight at The O2 in London also live on Sky 3D.

Additional information